Hi, need help with switching character model and AI

Mar 15, 2017
Gamertag
FB GameFreak nz
Hi, i'm very new to modding Halo2 for PC. I need help with switching character model and AI on the level Sacred Icon. I've been trying to change the ally Jackals into ally Brutes. I've been playing around with the Assembly program, and I've managed to change the Jackals into brutes, but they have no AI and just stand still empty handed. I've also edited the Jackal Major premutation into the Brute Captain premutation but they spawn as Brute Honor Guards sometimes. Thanks for reading, and any help would be much appreciated :)

Aug 17, 2015
Gamertag
SoddyBoi
I'll help you get started and mod along side you.
Alright, so make sure to back up your original map file to begin with.
Each mission has a different character/weapon/vehicle palette, these determine which numbers are assigned to which character/weapon/vehicle.

To edit your allies go to scnr - and click the option.
Once in scnr, search for 'squads'.
We'll change the first encounter which is called 'pussy_grunt' - he's the once hiding in the corner near the drop piece.
The Character Index will be set to '14' which is a Grunt Major - to make him a Brute change the Character Index to '18'
You will have to change his starting weapon as '2' is Plasma Pistol, change it to '1' Carbine.

Hit save if the game/map isnt open or hit poke if you're ingame/mission.

Here's what Assembly should look like:

Here's what it looks like in-game:

*EDIT*
Here's a link to the Character/Weapon values http://www.mediafire.com/file/9bdqopq2b ... lwalls.txt

Attachments

Mar 15, 2017
Gamertag
FB GameFreak nz
I've just tried it out and it worked! Thanks! I have one more question if you don't mind me asking. When I change a character, for example, let's say the first grunt major in the pussy_grunt encounter into a brute, will the brute have the normal brute minor values or will it keep the grunt major health values?

Aug 17, 2015
Gamertag
SoddyBoi